Why?

My motivation doesn’t lie in money, ego, or, like Steve Jobs, to create ‘works of art.’ I’m no blood thirsty capitalist, no narcissist, and certainly no artist. Instead I want to seek control over my own life and to be entirely responsible for the outcomes. I want to do as I please, without having to worry what coworkers/bosses will think. The fact that I used to worry if I had built enough mind-numbing decks between now and my last employee review in order to get a 5% raise at the end of the year is an insult to all the amazing advances people have made over our short time on earth.

As humans, I truly believe we want to do real work. We are wired to create, solve, improve, optimize, economize, simplify, and invent for it is the fiber of our species. And it depresses me to know that I (and many of my friends/peers) haven’t done any of those things since college. This is my reason for starting a company. I want to create something, fix an existing problem, and absolutely and completely own it myself, the way I want to.

 Go forth and build. What’s the worst that could happen?

Leave a Reply

